Miscellaneous

Surprise – Give More

Being a giver makes me happy. I love to do for others. Over the weekend i had a surprise birthday party for someone in my life. A relative of mine commented early last week, “Wow he’s getting three birthday dinners and he didn’t even plan anything for your birthday?” I just played it off. I mean, some people just are not great at planning things, I understand. 

Just a short few hours later after hearing that comment, I started to feel resentful. As I was putting together his birthday dinner with his family’s side, I found myself getting very annoyed. I thought to myself, “well I really don’t understand why I am going all out for this. Planning three separate birthday celebrations when I couldn’t even get him to plan one for my 25th earlier this year.” 

Sunday dinner came and went and the following day was his birthday. I planned a small dinner at a restaurant with him and his friends too. Even at the dinner I found myself highly annoyed by every little thing. At the end of the night, after a full tummy, I found myself happier.

The next few days would be busy busy busy. I had to make sure the decorations were done, my shopping complete, and every thing prepped for the party. As I was getting everything ready I was getting excited. I was happy to be able to put something together for someone. Especially since it will bring a smile to someone’s face. 

Saturday finally arrived and I was running around doing last minute shopping. I decorated and made sure everything was how I envisioned it. Needless to say, he was surprised. I was happy to see the look on his face. 


The image above with the quotes spoke to me. Giving is a part of who I am. There may be times when I might want something and I don’t get it but I never dwell in that mindset for too long. I love to put a smile on someone’s face. I love to be able to surprise them with something good that they never had before. I know how great it feels to be thought of and I want to give that same feeling back. At the end of the day, my love one was happy and definitely surprised. That makes me happy. 

Leave a Reply

